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This policy does not create a contract for employment between any employee and the
Department. Nothing in this policy changes the fact that all uncovered employees of the
Department are at-will employees and serve at the pleasure of the appointing authority.

POLICY STATEMENT

The Department of Child Safety (DCS) recognizes that maintaining adequate staffing
levels in its offices is essential to its ability to provide services that ensure the safety,
protection, and well-being of Arizona’s children. Accordingly, DCS employees are
required to work during normal state business hours and non-state business hours, such
as, overtime, on-call, weekends and holidays, as assigned by their supervisors.

All employee absences are to be accounted for, whether scheduled or unscheduled,
approved or unapproved. DCS conducts its attendance and leave activities in accordance
with the provisions contained in the Arizona State Personnel System (ASPS) Rules and
the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA).

This policy supplements the ASPS Rules and provides instructions to supervisors and
employees on attendance and leave policies and procedures.

APPLICABILITY

This policy applies to all DCS employees.

AUTHORITY



https://apps.azsos.gov/public_services/Title_02/2-05.pdf
https://www.dol.gov/whd/regs/statutes/FairLaborStandAct.pdf

Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938, as amended

AR.S. § 23-391 Overtime pay; work week
AR.S.841-706 State employee living donor leave; definitions
A.R.S.8§41-742 State personnel system; covered and uncovered employees;

application; exemptions

A.A.C. R2-5A-404 ASPS Personnel Rule: Overtime
A.A.C. R2-5A-A601 ASPS Rule: Leave
A.A.C. R2-5A-502 ASPS Rule: Hours of Work

IV.  DEFINITIONS

Administrative Leave: A paid leave of absence initiated by the Department for purposes
of dealing with: (1) alleged employee wrongdoing or during a disciplinary process; or (2)
emergency situations. While on administrative leave, an employee is temporarily relieved
of normal responsibilities, but continues to receive regular pay and benefits.

Alternative Work Schedules (AWS): Refers to flexible work schedules, compressed work
schedules, or combinations thereof.

Basic Work Requirement: The number of hours, excluding overtime hours, an employee
is either required to work or to account for by charging leave, excused absence, or
holiday hours. Full-time employees are required to work at least 40 hours within their
standard work week.

Department: The Department of Child Safety (DCS).
Director: The Director of the Department of Child Safety.

Employee Time Entry (ETE): An electronic time card located in the "Your Employee
Services" portal (YES).

Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA): State service is subject to the federal Fair Labor
Standards Act which prescribes minimum wage and overtime pay standards as well as
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record keeping standards for employment. The Act requires that employees may not be
employed for more than 40 hours in a week without receiving at least one and one-half
times their regular rate of pay for the overtime hours. The terms “non-exempt” and
“exempt” refer to employee’s subject or not subject to, respectively, the FLSA (questions
regarding FLSA exempt status of any class or position should be referred to the DCS
Human Resources).

Holiday: Refers to the state service holidays as identified in ASPS Rules.

Pay Period: The two-week period for which an employee is scheduled to perform work.
The standard or normal two-week pay period for state service consists of two consecutive
weeks, beginning at 12:00 a.m. on the Saturday of the first workweek and ending at 11:59
p.m. on Friday of the second workweek.

Standard State Service Workweek: The standard or normal state service workweek runs
seven consecutive days from each Saturday at 12:00 a.m. to the following Friday at 11:59
p.m.

V. POLICY
A. Supervisor Responsibilities
Supervisors at all levels shall:

1. approve, report, and monitor their subordinates’ work schedules, absences,
and overtime.

2. be responsible to ensure attendance and documentation of all mandatory
training of subordinates through Learning Management System Tracorp.
An employee will only be excused from mandatory training for the
following reasons:

a. illness;
b. to testify in court; or
C. attending court in response to a subpoena.

Unexcused absences from training are documented in an AZPerforms!
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note.
3. require that the employees under their supervision:

a. are compensated in accordance with applicable rules and laws;

b. work their assigned schedules and designated hours only, unless a
revised schedule is pre-approved by the supervisor;

C. obtain their supervisor’s prior approval for changes to their regular
work schedule;

d. if FLSA non-exempt, list the actual time worked and leave taken
on the Employee Time Entry (ETE) form;

e. if FLSA exempt, correctly complete the ETE. Exempt employees
are not eligible for overtime.

f. obtain their management’s approval prior to working overtime

hours in accordance with established procedures.
B. Hours of Work

1. Standard State Service Workweek. A.A.C. R2-5A-502 states that the state
service workweek is the period of seven consecutive days starting
Saturday at 12:00 a.m. and ending Friday at 11:59 p.m. Standard work
hours are 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. If, at the Director's discretion, it is
determined that the Department’s existing services can be maintained by
employees working a 40-hour workweek in a flexible schedule, the
Director may authorize this option.

For further information, refer to the DCS 04-28 Alternative Work
Schedules (AWS) policy.

2. Approval of AWS Requests. Supervisors shall determine, prior to
approval, that a proposed work schedule is justified and:

a. does not interfere with a unit or program's accessibility to the
public between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. when state
offices are open;
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b. does not impose an unnecessary burden on other employees.

3. Breaks and Meal Period. The FLSA does NOT require the Department to
provide meal or rest breaks. Breaks are a privilege, not a right.

a. Breaks - It is important to remember that breaks are not mandatory.
It is a privilege, not a right. At DCS, non-exempt employees may
be permitted one 15-minute mid-morning break and one 15-minute
mid-afternoon break. Breaks cannot be accumulated, cover for late
arrival to work, extended lunch hours, or be used for early
departure from work. The time spent on authorized breaks must be
counted as hours worked. Supervisors are responsible for
staggering breaks so that the office and telephones are covered at
all times. Supervisors will also ensure that employees do not
interrupt, stop, or postpone work requiring immediate attention to
accommodate a “scheduled break.” When circumstances do not
allow an employee to take a break, the Department is not required
to make up that lost break to the employee in terms of time or
compensation .

b. Meal Periods - Even though the FLSA does not require employers
to provide meal periods, it does stipulate that if one does exist, at
least 30 minutes or more constitute a bona fide meal period. Meal
periods are not counted as work time. Normally, employees
remove themselves from the work location and are therefore not
performing any duties. However, when an employee remains at the
work location and while eating performs any job-related duties,
other than deminimis ones (such as answering a question), the time
must be counted as hours worked. A supervisor may adjust an
employee’s work schedule to prevent an overtime situation when
an employee works during a meal period. Supervisors should
attempt to establish regular employee meal periods. Coverage of
the office and telephones must be maintained at all times, and
established meal periods may not interfere with the needs of the
Department as outlined under breaks.

4. Odd-Hour Shift Assignments

If it becomes necessary to extend the working hours of any office beyond
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the hours of 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., the following will apply:

a. Employees who request the odd-hour shift shall be the first
scheduled for the shift. Employees who volunteer to work the odd-
hour shift if they are needed shall be the next scheduled;

b. If additional staff is required, other employees shall be scheduled
on a rotating basis. Based on state service seniority, newer state
employees shall be scheduled to work the odd-hour shift before the
state employees with longer tenure;

C. A minimum number of experienced employees (excluding
supervisors) may be required to work the odd shifts in order to
provide well-rounded coverage during all shifts;

d. This procedure does not apply to supervisory and management
personnel who may be required to work any shift in order to
provide sufficient supervision during all shifts;

e. Employees for whom an odd-hour shift assignment poses a
problem due to health problems substantiated by a physician's
statement, child care arrangements, transportation problems,
religious practices, current enrollment in school, arrangements for
care of adults or other dependents, should submit a written request
to be exempted from the odd-hour shift requirement to the
supervisor. The above listed reasons do not constitute an automatic
exemption, but are the basis by which exceptions may be made.
Supervisors must consider the needs of their unit or section when
deciding whether or not an exception may be made.

C. Absence from Work
1. Pre-Planned Absence
Any time planned by the employee to be away from their regularly
scheduled hours of work must be approved, at least 48 hours in advance,
by the manager/supervisor and must be done in compliance with any

departmental policies regarding scheduled time off.

2. Notification
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If for any reason an employee is unable to report to work or is going to be
late for duty, it is the employee’s responsibility to notify their
manager/supervisor through the appropriate department notification
procedure. This is necessary so that arrangements for coverage can be
made. Notification should be at least two (2) hours in advance of
scheduled start time; however, individual units or sections may set a
different minimum standard for notification. The notification requirement
applies to each day of absence unless the manager/supervisor approves an
extended absence (up to 3 days). The employee must contact personally,
unless a bona fide emergency exists and is unable to communicate.

Employees are expected to inform the supervisor/manager if an absence is
due to a medical condition covered by the Family and Medical Leave Act
(FMLA).

An employee who fails to report to work and does not call to report the
absence is considered to have an unreported absence, more commonly
known as a No Call/No Show; this is the most serious absence offense and
may result in disciplinary action. Failure to notify the manager/supervisor
for three (3) consecutive days will be considered job abandonment.

3. Unit and Section Requirements

Units and sections need to assess their business needs and develop
attendance procedures and standards which can be fairly and consistently
applied.

Units and sections are required to review their proposed procedures with
DCS Human Resources, Employee Relations Department. Once approved,
units and sections will communicate the procedures to all existing
employees as well as all new hires.

D. Leave

1. Request for leave. Supervisors shall determine the most appropriate use of
leave considering the employee’s regular work schedule, the employee’s
wishes for use of leave balances, and the impact of schedule adjustments
on the work unit. Employees request leave, including leave without pay, in
writing by completing a Leave Request form. Prior to being used, leave
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must be approved by the supervisor. Leave usage is subject to the
provisions and limitations outlined in A.A.C. R2-5A, Article 6.

2. Advancing leave prohibited. Leave time may not be borrowed or
advanced. If an employee is absent from work and has exhausted all
accrued leave, they must be coded as leave without pay (LWOP) (640).

3. Reporting Leave

a. If an employee is FLSA non-exempt, any scheduled hours that are
not worked are to be accounted for by either authorized leave
(refer to the categories of leave listed in section V.E) or
unauthorized leave.

b. All FLSA-exempt employees must ensure that leave time is
properly reported on their ETE. Contact the DCS Payroll Office at
(602) 255-2701 for instructions on ETE corrections.

4. Unauthorized Absence

a. Unauthorized and/or unreported absences will be considered
absence without approved leave, and a deduction of pay will be
made for each period of such absence. Time lost because of
unauthorized absence cannot be made up at a later date.
Unauthorized absences may also constitute grounds for
disciplinary action and may serve to interrupt continuous state
service.

b. Unauthorized absence shall be reported on the ETE by selecting
the “Leave Without Pay - Unauthorized” pay code (641).

5. Failure to Return from Approved Leave

The failure or inability of an employee to return to work on the first work
day after an approved leave without pay may be considered a resignation,
pursuant to A.A.C. R2-5A-C602 (C) (3). Supervisors must contact HR
Employee Relations prior to taking action based upon this rule.

6. Job Interviews
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a. Employees will be authorized to take time with pay to participate
in AZ State job interviews and to take a test for a position in state
service.

I. This includes only the time spent at the interview and
actual travel time, not to exceed one hour each way.

ii. Employees must receive supervisory approval in advance
and are to exercise reasonable consideration in requesting
time off for these purposes.

iii. If necessary, the supervisor may instruct the employee to
arrange a more convenient time for the interview or test if
the employee's absence will adversely affect the unit or
program.

iv. Employees who are authorized to use such leave shall
charge this authorized absence to the regular scheduled
hours worked on their ETE. Travel time in excess of one
hour each way must be charged against accrued annual
leave if available or leave without pay, if it occurs during
regular hours of duty.

b. Time off with pay will not be authorized to take a test or to attend
an interview for a position outside of state service. Employees
must request and receive approval for leave and charge time
against annual leave.

C. Employees SHALL NOT use state vehicles to travel to job
interviews or to take a test, and they SHALL NOT be paid mileage
or per diem to attend a job interview or to take a test.

E. Holidays Observed and Compensation

1. Holidays observed by the state are shown below. Holidays that occur on a
Saturday are observed on the preceding Friday. Holidays that occur on a
Sunday are observed on the following Monday. All references to holidays
in this section refer to the day the state service holidays are observed as
outlined in the Arizona State Personnel System Rules:
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DATE HOLIDAY
January 1st New Year's Day
3rd Monday in January Martin Luther King, Jr. Day/Civil Rights Day
3rd Monday in February Presidents Day
Last Monday in May Memorial Day
July 4th Independence Day

First Monday in September | Labor Day
Second Monday in October | Columbus Day

November 11th Veterans Day
4th Thursday in November | Thanksgiving Day
December 25th Christmas Day
2. If it is necessary to schedule employees to work on a holiday, the schedule

for a pay period in which the holiday falls (and the succeeding pay period,
if necessary) is to be posted with as much advance notice of the holiday to
permit employees to plan accordingly. An employee scheduled to work a
holiday is to be rotated so as not to be required to work a second holiday
before other employees are scheduled to work a holiday when practical.

3. Employees are eligible for holiday pay or compensation under the
following conditions:

a. Employees Scheduled to Work

Unless required to work to maintain essential state services, an
employee who is regularly scheduled to work on a day on which
one of the holidays listed above is observed is entitled to be absent
with pay for the number of hours regularly scheduled to work, not
to exceed eight hours, provided the employee is not on leave
without pay on the employee’s work days immediately preceding
or following the day on which the holiday is observed.

b. Employees Not Scheduled to Work.

An employee, excluding part-time and temporary employees, who
is not scheduled to work on a day on which one of the holidays
listed above is observed shall receive holiday compensation for the
number of hours normally worked per day, not to exceed eight,
provided the employee is not on leave without pay on the
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employee’s work days immediately preceding or following the day
on which the holiday is observed.

NOTE: An employee who does not work the same number
of hours per day is compensated for the holiday
based on the greatest number of hours worked in a
given day during the week in which the holiday
falls, not to exceed eight hours. (Refer to DCS 04-
28 Alternative Work Schedules policy for specific
information regarding employees on alternative
work schedules).

C. Employees Required to Work

An employee who is required to work on a day on which a holiday
listed above is observed shall receive:

o If FLSA non-exempt - both holiday compensation and one
hour of pay at the employee’s current salary rate for each
hour worked.

o If FLSA exempt - no additional compensation.

Holiday compensation is described further in Section V.D.3.g
below.

d. Temporary employees shall receive holiday pay provided they are
in a pay status the day before and the day after the holiday and are
regularly scheduled to work on the day of the holiday.

e. Part-time employees who work % time, % time, or %, time are
entitled to a proportional amount of holiday pay. Part-time
employees who work a percentage of full-time other than % time,
Y time, or % time are entitled to holiday pay at the next lower rate.
A part-time employee who works less than % time is not entitled to
holiday pay.

f. An employee is considered to be in a pay status when receiving
compensation for work performed or for an approved paid leave.

g. Holiday Compensation
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i An FLSA non-exempt employee may accrue one hour for
each holiday hour worked, up to eight hours. The accrued
holiday leave must be used in the succeeding pay period or
in a future pay period.

ii. Administrative Leave Exception

@ Administrative Leave is not intended to affect an
employee’s eligibility for holiday compensation.
Under this policy only, an employee who is on
Administrative Leave, either immediately preceding
or immediately following a day on which a holiday
is observed, will be eligible for the holiday.

(b) An employee may not be placed on Administrative
Leave on a day on which a holiday is observed.
Contact HR Employee Relations with specific
questions related to Administrative Leave in
conjunction with a holiday.

F. Categories of Leave

1. Except in an emergency, an employee is required to request and obtain
approval prior to taking any leave.

2. The available categories of leave (paid and unpaid) available to employees
are identified below. Refer to either the ASPS Rules or the Employee
Handbook for more information on each of these categories of leave:

Annual Leave;

Sick Leave;

Administrative Leave;

Bereavement Leave,

Civic Duty Leave;

Living Donor Leave;

Furlough;

Leave without pay;

Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA). For further information,
refer to DCS 04-25 Family and Medical Leave Act policy;

—~S@ e oo o
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Industrial Leave (R2-5A-D602);

K. Military Leave. For further information, refer to Military
Emergency Activation Differential Pay published by the Arizona
Department of Administration General Accounting Office (GAO);
Victim Leave;

Compensatory Leave;

Donated Leave;

Meritorious Service Leave.

[
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VI. FORMS INDEX

Leave Request (DCS-1015)
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